How I Unlocked the Wii System Menu 4.3u north american version

December 27, 2010

This post is for my own purposes. If you try any of these steps you may BRICK YOUR WII MAKING IT UNUSABLE!!

I’ll outline here the steps I took. I don’t know exactly what made this work, but it does.

I have System Menu 4.3u.  The guides recommended the different exploits. So I downloaded the latest Smash Stack to be used with the Super Smash Bros Brawl.

I followed the instructions and it worked great.

I also grabbed the latest BootMii installer which then allowed me to install the Homebrew channel and the bootmii system under boot2.

This next step is VERY IMPORTANT.  I then did a NAND backup. You need to do this in case somethign bad happens. your NAND is unique to your hardware.. so looking for a copy later is NOT AN OPTION.

once your NAND is backed up..

then you can move on to what I think is the most difficult part. I think what makes it confusing is that they need to be done in a particular order. 1 cIOS will unlock the next one and so on and so forth to get to the goodies which are cIOS 222 and 249.

You will now access your IOS blocks in your Wii. This is what allows your wii to play backup games and load from USB, load WiiFlow etc.

Here is a good description of what IOS is about

I used a tool called Multi-mod Manager.  This allowed me to look at IOS, WAD, and boot2.

Under IOS, you can see each block, what is supposed to be there, and what you currently have installed.

I tried an option called “Remove all stubs”  the stubbed IOS blocks are nintendo’s updates to block your changes here and some other things that is needs to work.

Remove all stubs is supposed remove IOS 202,222,236,249,250 and the other ones needs to load USB loader wiiflow and other custom software.

This tool did not work for me.

Now this is where my path split.. Iwould like to try this again.. and would appreciate some feedback on this.

So What I think should happen here is, you should manually uninstall the IOS blocks that you want to load you own version into.

Trucha bug slot 236

Hermes 202,222,223

Waninkoko’s 249,250

In all cases I used the NUS online loaders.

So the most important step is getting the right IOS 236 installed. This is gatekeeper so to speak. IT allows you to use the other cIOS tools to load the hermes and waninkoko. You must complete this step first.

I used IOS236 v5.

During the install it asks if you will be using this update for

1. legitatimate backups

2. pirated games… DO NOT choose 2.     , it will lock you out.

Select legitate backups and the IOS will get loaded…. at each step if you like you load the bootmii and look at your IOS to see what blocks are loaded. now you should see an “unknown” IOS in block 236. Awesome.. now you can use the Hermes and waninkoko tools. IF you cannot use this method to get 236 working.. the next steps will not work.

now load up the cIOS installer 222 by Hermes.

Follow the steps here , again you can use the bootmii > IOS manager to view your blocks and verify 202,222 and 223 have your versions in them.

now load up the waninkoko’s cIOS

Follow the steps and verify you have 249 and 250 loaded.

Once you are satisfied your versions work.  Download WiiFlow and load it from the homebrew channel

Wiiflow, allows you to backup your original disc and run image files you copy from other locations directly from your USB drive.

This guide is rough, send me some feedback and i’ll detail it further. Make sure you backup your NAND!

Leave a Reply

