Sending custom events between components

December 17, 2009

This is an issue I have been wrestling with for a few months now.

It’s come to a point now where I have to figure out. The issue is, when I create a custom event so I can transport data between my loosly coupled components, the eventListener never picks it up.

I found this pretty straightforward easy to understand article here, that explains that the event never travel across from component to component ( up and down the container stacks ) but in fact only travel 1w ay, up the stack to the parent.

Ok so that is great to know..  now the only way I can trap these events is always attach my listeners inside my custom components to the systemManager.  Do I always have to do that ? seems weird.

Anyways I discover more, I will comment on this post

Leave a Reply

